Eric Church has been 'Caught in the Act' of releasing his first-ever live collection, due out April 9.

Following a whirlwind 2012, the 'Like Jesus Does' singer pledged to step away from the spotlight this year. "I’m going to be out of the spotlight next year, really,” says Church. “I want to see if I can write some songs and see where we can go, musically. I’m looking forward to that. I really want to see where this thing goes.”

As a result, the singer will release 'Caught in the Act' rather than a full-length studio album in 2013. Church recorded the 17-track collection at the Tivoli Theatre in Chattanooga, Tenn. during the fall leg of his hugely-success Blood, Sweat and Beers Tour. The project features all of Church's biggest hits, as well as fan-favorite selections from his CMA Album of the Year winner, 'Chief.'

But when can his legions of loyal followers expect new original material from the singer? Not anytime soon, unfortunately.

“I’m waiting on the creative process to tell me what’s next. I’m not going to be an artist who just makes records so the (label) can make its quarterly numbers or just to support a tour,” Church explains. “That’s the worst reason in the world to make music. I still think there has to be evolution… and it would be very disappointing for us to come to the point we’ve come to and not have that next record show great evolution, because I think the best bands and best artists do that.”

Church may be stepping away from the spotlight, but the singer is certainly not falling off the radar completely. He will wrap the Canadian leg of his Blood, Sweet and Beers Tour this month before embarking on Kenny Chesney's No Shoes Nation Tour on March 16.

Eric Church's 'Caught in The Act: Live' Album Track Listing:

1. 'Before She Does'
2. 'How 'Bout You'
3. 'Drink in My Hand'
4. 'Over When It's Over'
5. 'I'm Gettin' Stoned'
6. 'Creepin''
7. 'Keep On'
8. 'Hungover & Hard Up'
9. 'Sinners Like Me'
10. 'Country Music Jesus'
11. 'Pledge Allegiance to the Hag'
12. 'Jack Daniels'
13. 'Homeboy'
14. 'Lotta Boot Left to Fill'
15. 'Smoke a Little Smoke'
16. 'These Boots'
17. 'Springsteen'

More From 100.7 KXLB