Two Bobcats from Texas were honored as the top football players in the Big Sky Conference on Tuesday as the league released its 2012 All-Conference Team and individual award winners.

Montana State quarterback DeNarius McGhee was named the Offensive Player of the Year for the second time in three seasons. The junior from Euless, Texas, was also named to the All-Conference First Team.

Bobcat linebacker Jody Owens garnered the Defensive Player of the Year. The senior from Mesquite, Texas, was one of two unanimous selections to the All-Conference First Team.

The duo helped Montana State to a share of the Big Sky title for the third straight season. The second-ranked Bobcats will take the No. 2 ranking and the No. 3 seed into the Division I Football Championship.

The 13 league head coaches Monday. They were not allowed to vote for their own teams.

The First Team featured eight two-time selections, but just two unanimous selections.

Eastern Washington junior wide receiver Brandon Kaufman joined Owens as a unanimous pick.

Montana State led the way with six First Team selections.

McGhee, a 6-foot, 210-pound junior, completed 67.5 percent of his passes for 2,726 yards with 22 touchdowns and nine interceptions during the regular season. He guided MSU to a 10-1 overall record. McGhee shared the Offensive Player of the Year honors as a freshman in 2010, when he was also named the First Team quarterback.

Owens, a 6-0, 223-pound senior, tallied 82 tackles with 11 tackles for loss, and four forced fumbles. He led a talented Montana State defense that leads the Big Sky in rushing yards allowed, total yards allowed and points allowed. The Bobcats have been among the national leaders all season in rushing defense, and surrendered just eight rushing touchdowns.

Three of Owens’ Bobcat defensive cohorts were also selected to the First Team: Senior defensive end Caleb Schreibeis, senior tackle Zach Minter and senior safety Joel Fuller. Schreibeis leads the Big Sky in sacks (12), tackles for loss 14.5, and is tied for the national lead with seven forced fumbles. Minter was a repeat First Team selection. Montana State senior center Shaun Sampson was the other Bobcat named to the top squad.

First Team All Big Sky 2012 (MSU)
DeNarius McGhee - QB
Center: Shaun Sampson - Center

Joel Fuller - Safety
Zach Minter - DT
Jody Owens - LB
Caleb Schreibeis -DE

Second Team All Big Sky 2012 (MSU)
Tanner Bleskin - WR
Steven Foster - OT
Cody Kirk - RB
Brad Daly -DE
Darius Jones -CB

Honorable Mention 2012 (MSU)
Quinn Catalano- OG

Tray Robinson - FB

Rory Perez -K

Na'a Moeakiola - LB

Michael Foster - ST

Steven Bethley - S

Shawn Johnson - RS