Montana Hall
Townsquare Media

Employees will start voting this week on whether to keep Montana State University's faculty union.

Ballots are being mailed out Wednesday to 400 tenured and tenure-track professors after more than 30 percent of the professors requested a union decertification vote with the state Department of Labor and Industry.

The Associated Faculty of MSU was formed in 1989 by a 12-vote margin, 168 to 156.

Professors disagree whether the union has won better pay raises or benefits, caused the faculty to be treated more fairly or resulted in a more democratic campus.

The decertification vote doesn't affect the AFMSU union, which represents about 200 MSU adjunct or non-tenured faculty members.

Ballots must be turned in by April 16.


More From 100.7 KXLB