Dario Franchitti won the 96th running of the Indy 500 on Sunday by holding off a charging Takuma Sato, who crashed on the last lap. It was the third Indy 500 win for Franchitti, making him one of 10 drivers to win the race three or more times. Piloting his red No. 50 Target-sponsored car, Franchitti won despite starting 16th.

Franchitti, who also won the 2007 and 2010 races, celebrated with milk in Victory Lane after the victory – a custom for drivers who win the annual race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis. An estimated crowd of more than 300,000 watched Franchitti’s victory. Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Oriol Servia and Ryan Briscoe, who started on the pole, followed Franchitti in the top five finishers.

Prior to the race, track officials held a special tribute to the late Dan Wheldon, the 2011 Indy 500 winner who was killed in a crash during a race at Las Vegas in October. Bryan Herta, whom Wheldon drove for in the 2011 Indy win, took a lap in the car Wheldon rode to victory last year.

More From 100.7 KXLB