It was all the way back in September when Dave Wooten posted that our Capitol Christmas tree this year would come from the Kootenai National Forest. Now, it's been cut, and is on its way to Washington, D.C.

Luckily, the summer forest fires stayed away from the designated tree, and the backup tree (who knew? of course they would have a backup, right?). The tree was cut on November 7th, and when it gets to the capitol on or about November 27th, it will be decorated with ornaments and topped with a star made here in Montana, the first time the star has come from the state supplying the tree.

The star is made from copper, and represents the state flower, the bitterroot. It was designed, planned, and funded by the Washington Companies, fabricated by Split Mountain Metals, and lighted by Western Montana Lighting.

You can track the tree on its journey. Here's the schedule:

  • Monday, Nov. 13: Eureka, MT; Whitefish, MT
  • Tuesday, Nov. 14: Libby, MT; Troy, MT; and Trout Creek, MT
  • Wednesday, Nov. 15: Thompson Falls, MT; and Missoula, MT
  • Thursday, Nov. 16: Helena, MT; and Great Falls, MT
  • Friday, Nov. 17: Harlem (Fort Belknap), MT; and Glasgow, MT
  • Saturday, Nov. 18: Glendive, MT; and Dickinson, ND
  • Sunday, Nov 19: Grand Forks, ND; and Browns Valley, MN
  • Monday, Nov 20: Kansas City, MO
  • Tuesday, Nov. 21: Springfield, MO
  • Wednesday, Nov. 22: Poplar Bluff, MO; and Paducah, KY
  • Sunday, Nov. 26: Joint Base Andrews
  • Monday, Nov. 27: Deliver to U.S. Capitol

The Tradition Began in 1964