Contact Us

And The Winner Of The 53rd Daytona 500 – The Great American Race

Trevor Bayne, the 35th different driver to win the Daytona 500, is the youngest driver to ever win the race.  It was only his 2nd Sprint Cup Race ever and very First Daytona 500 race.  The race itself was record breaking with the most cautions, lead changes and different race leaders.  The 2011 Daytona 500 BY THE NUMERICAL STATS:

Cautions – 16

Different Driver Leaders – 22

Lead Changes (Overall) – 74

2nd year in a row that the race took 2 Overtimes to finish the Green, White Checker flag rule


1—The Daytona 500 has never been won by a driver making his first Daytona 500 start, except the inaugural race in 1959, That was until TREVOR BAYNE won yesterday’s Daytona 500. Three drivers have won in their second start: Pete Hamilton (1970), Mario Andretti (1967), and Junior Johnson (1960).

Trevor Bayne, Steve Wallace, Andy Lally and Brian Keselowski made their first Daytona 500 starts yesterday.

0 — Kurt Busch is winless at Daytona but has finished second three times in 10 Daytona 500s. Busch has finished in the top four in nine of his 20 Daytona races and has the most restrictor plate top-fives (15) and top-10s (24) of all active drivers who have never won a restrictor plate race.

500 and title: Won both in same season

Lee Petty       1959

Richard Petty            1964

Richard Petty            1971

Richard Petty            1974

Cale Yarborough      1977

Richard Petty            1979

Jeff Gordon    1997

Jimmie Johnson        2006

 3 — Three drivers have won two of the past 10 restrictor plate races in the Cup Series: Jamie McMurray, Kevin Harvick and Tony Stewart. Kurt Busch and Clint Bowyer have the most top-10s in that span with six.

3 — Richard Childress Racing won three of the four plate races last season. Kevin Harvick won the spring Talladega race and the July Daytona race. Clint Bowyer edged Harvick in the fall Talladega race.

5 — The past five Daytona 500s have been won by first-time Daytona 500 winners. Jeff Gordon is the last repeat winner (2005).

9 — Nine drivers have won the past nine Daytona 500s. That matches the longest stretch of different winners (1986—1994).

9 — The leader of the most laps has not won the Daytona 500 in nine of the past 10 races. Michael Waltrip is the lone exception when he led 68 of the rain-shortened 109 laps in 2003.

16 — There have been 16 first time winners at Daytona, including 2011 winner Trevor Bayne, the most of all tracks ahead of Martinsville (12) and Talladega (10).

Seven of those 16 were in the Daytona 500: Tiny Lund (1963), Mario Andretti (1967), Pete Hamilton (1970), Derrike Cope (1990), Sterling Marlin (1994) and Michael Waltrip (2001) and Trevor Bayne (2011).

Best of KXLB

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for XL Nation quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive XL Nation contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.